Annual Awards of Excellence

Thank you for submitting your nominations to ACHIEVA for its 2018 Annual Awards of Excellence at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, December 11, 2018 at the Sheraton, Station Square, Pittsburgh.

Congratulations to the 2018 honorees:

Advocacy - Mary Anderson Hartley

Marsha S. Blanco Excellence in Community Leadership - Nancy Thaler

Community Awareness - Sean and Mandi Casey - Miracle League of the South Hills

Employment - Oxford Development Company - Joseph G. Piccini, VP Property Management

Family Supports - Christina Abernethy

Legal Services - Carlson Lynch Sweet Kipela & Carpenter

Yvonne Zanos Excellence in Media - Jennifer Szweda Jordan - Unabridged Press

Professional Service - Dr. Robert Arnhold, Ph.D. - Slippery Rock University

Joe Ott Award - Brian Long, Chairman, Seubert & Associates

Tony Leech Award - Lydia Wert

Sattler Humanitarian Award - Michael Dever, Esq.

Should you wish to receive an invitation, please contact Peggie Watson at 412.995.5000 x420 or

ACHIEVA strives to support and empower individuals with disabilities and their families, making it our mission to create a community where disability is a distinction that makes no difference.  We make it our responsibility to encourage those in the community who advocate for the same mission as ACHIEVA. 

The 2017 honorees:

Excellence in Advocacy
PA Health Access Network (PHAN)

Excellence in Community Awareness
Bruce Sickler, President, American Airlines, Abilities Employee Business Resource Group

Excellence in Employment - Iron City Workplace Services (ICWS), Phil Sonnenklar, President

Excellence in Family Supports - Claudia Stoner and Grant Stoner

Excellence in Legal Services - Carol Horowitz, Esq., Disability Rights Pennsylvania


Excellence in Legislative - PA State Representative Dom Costa 

Yvonne Zanos Excellence in Media - Caroline Modarressy-Tehrani, HBO Vice News (Accepted by Nancy Murray)

Excellence in Professional Service - Dr. Rory Cooper, Director, University of Pittsburgh Human Engineering Research Laboratories (HERL)


Excellence in Volunteerism - Italian Sons and Daughters of America (ISDA)

Joe Ott Award - Chaz Kellem

Tony Leech Award - Paul Cline

Sattler Humanitarian Award - Beth Fulena, Western Psychiatric Institute & Clinic